•  
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Reasonable cost to replace timing belt, pulleys, and water pump?

What's wrong with my car?
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks

Reasonable cost to replace timing belt, pulleys, and water pump?

2006 Aveo. As I understand it, it makes sense to replace all three of these together. My vehicle is nearing $90k and as far as I know hasn't had work done on any of these.

Regardless, I want to replace ASAP. What is a fair cost?

Thanks!

Also, I'm a few driver to the Aveo, does anyone else notice that above 60-65 mph, winds blow this thing all over the road?

I'll keep it and add a turbo
      Thanks
      Rockauto sells the whole set with water pump (I suggest the gates) for $90. If you do it your self you will probably take 8 -12 hours to do it. If you have a mechanic figure on double that parts cost, and they will take 3 to 4 hours @ $60 to $100 per hour. So $350 to $600 for a shop to do it. If you have the time, try it your self, its really not that bad and there is a great write up on it. Just do yourself a favor and borrow, rent, or buy a DOHC lock and the Lisle water pump wrench.

Casual Roadtripper RicochetRandy's Avatar
      Thanks
      I recommend getting a friend to help you with it though, two people really makes the work smoother and faster.

As for winds, our cars sit rather tall compared to others, (ever park next to a Saturn SL1?) , and that combined with it being an inline four, giving it a higher center of gravity to begin with, causes us to need to drive with very firm, steady hands.

Lifetime owner
      Thanks
      lowering springs REALLY help the height issues of the car. a heavy wind will still shove it slightly, but now where near what the factory soft springs will allow.

Thanks
      Anything else I should get replaced while I've got the engine apart?

Timing belt broke, do I keep it? thehunterooo's Avatar
      Thanks