•  
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question about wheel bearings

What's wrong with my car?
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks

Question about wheel bearings

Hello!

I'm a DIY mechanic, I've replaced wheel bearings before in Audis because they like to eat them for breakfast. In all cases, when I've gotten everything disconnected and tried to spin the hub/bearing by hand, it always felt rough or grainy instead of smooth, even without being under the weight of the car. And after pressing in the new bearing and hub, it always felt perfectly smooth to spin by hand before reinstalling onto the car.

Now I'm currently working on one on my GFs 2007 Aveo, it's front drivers side. I've got everything all apart but spinning the hub by hand feels perfectly smooth! So my questions are:
      1) Have you ever replaced a wheel bearing that was definitely bad but still felt smooth to rotate by hand?
      2) If not, what else on an Aveo would sound exactly like a bad wheel bearing but actually is something else?
      Thanks!

Almost time to do my timing belt xintersecty's Avatar
      Thanks
      oh tough questions. I had to replace the wheel bearing on mine. They a bit delicate and require a serious press to get them in and out. My own semi-educated guess, the wheel bearing might seem smooth by hand but might not under load. Also it could be the CV joint starting to act up.
      Please do not power off, firmware update pending.....

Lifetime owner
      Thanks
      if it is just sound and you didn't check runout, then you might want to check the axles. CV joints sound the same, but mostly change on turns.. The aveo is also a small car the transfers noise. Having owned and fixed issues on a lot of small cars, you might just be doing the wrong side, or the wrong end of the car.. it happens if you only listen for it to replace it.

Thanks
      Thanks for the replies.