•  

Thread: Need help with stereo set-up

What's wrong with my car?
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks

Need help with stereo set-up

Hey everyone so I am new to the posts and you guys all caught my attention with your posts. Now I had lots of questions since I am very inexperienced with car audio. I have a 10" Punch Sub with non ported box and a Xplore 1000Watts Amp. I am having a friend set up the system to my stock head unit of my Chevy Aveo 2009 LS 1.6L car. I do have OnStar and I don't have it activated. So my questions are:

1. What do I need to do to install these two things into my car?
      2. What type of cables would I need for my car (with stock head unit)?
      3. And would I need to change anything so my system doesn't destroy my batter?
      (Would only having a capacitor be enough to maintain the system or should I consider upgrading my battery?)

If you guys could give me the models and all the detailed information I would greatly appreciate it. Feel free to send information through email.

Thank you everyone and I hope to hear from you! =D

What do you mean there's no turbo? paulsaveo's Avatar
      Thanks
      are you only wanting to add 1 amp and the single sub? If so, what you will need is a highend converter. the high end converter will tie into the speaker wires for your rear speakers, then you need a set of RCA cables that plug into the highend converter and plug into the amp, then you will need an amp kit. Im not trying to bash what you have but, the 1000w sony explode amp will not do 1000w, more like 4-500, but you need an amp kit, either a 4 or 8 guage amp kit (an 8 guage kit should be more than sufficient). a capacitor is a waste of time honestly. part of the amp kit kit is a remote wire that turns the amp on, im not sure where that can be wired in for accessory power but, im sure someone else on here will read this and be able to let you know

Thanks