•  
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ATENTION all first gen aveo owners! mabe second gen not sure. radiator problem!!!

I'll keep it and add a turbo
      Thanks

ATENTION all first gen aveo owners! mabe second gen not sure. radiator problem!!!

ive got a first gen 06 hatchback. keep all fluids changed and what not (being a mechanic my self i know what itll do if you dont lol). anyways to the point. i pull to work the other morning, and the car has a little smoke, not much just enough from me to say there is something wrong. i open the gate and pull in park the car, pop the hood, eyes are attracted to the radiator and there it was not a big leak just one to catch my eye, i order a radiator $160 i pull the car in and after investigating before i confirm my verdict! the cooling fan has rubbed a hole through the radiator cross tubes. replace the radiator end up loosing all tranny fluid (not to mention $15 a quart) but after going to the dealer for that. get the car going again. pretty poor design, the fan needs spacing between it and the radiator so it dont rub. please check yours itll save you at least $180 if not more. pictures shown radiator where the holes are, and new radiator installed with spacers (just had to space it at the top bolt was enough for mine!
      hope this saves yall some headaches!

Attached Images Attached Images    

2. The Following User Says Thank You to jonelledge For This Useful Post:

Daox (04-19-2016)

Lifetime owner
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      thats an interesting predicament you had, good solution. I will be sure to check mine.

Almost time to do my timing belt
      Thanks
      I'm not understanding this at all. I just checked my '05, and there is at least 1/2" clearance between all fan surfaces and the rad. And everything is solidly in place, so there is no possible way the fan could even come close to rubbing the rad, unless it was to break broke loose from where it's attached to the housing.