•  

Thread: 2006 Aveo need to replace ignition cylinder but key will not turn

What's wrong with my car?
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks

2006 Aveo need to replace ignition cylinder but key will not turn

A little bit of background, I have a fledgling mobile mechanic service, and this is a client's car. I am not a mechanic but have a good amount of experience turning wrenches, so I figured why not.

So the vehicle is a 2006 Aveo, the initial complaint was that the steering wheel was stuck and wont turn, I have tried all the wheel turning, and key jiggling and just about every combination of that I can think of, and the wheel is still stuck, and the key will not turn. The key comes in and out freely.

It appears to be an aftermarket key, so I have a feeling the ignition cylinder has been changed before.

I am just weighing the options available. The way I see it there are 2:

Option #1 force the removal of the existing ignition cylinder by drilling it out, shoving screwdriver in there, etc. But I must admit I'm not sure what all needs to be drilled out to do that.

My concern with this option is that it doesn't rule out some kind of issue with the ignition lock housing itself, but that could be revisited.

Option #2

Drill out the retainers for the ignition lock housing, and remove the whole thing, replacing with a new lock housing and new lock cylinder at the same time....it appears the new lock housing has threaded holes, does anyone know what size they are? Are there any sort of security issues with this route? The car does not have keyless entry.

The ignition cylinder would be the cheaper and faster option for both myself and the client, but I don't know how to get it out without being able to turn the key.

I guess I'm just a bit stuck here and looking for some help.

Last edited by littlehoov; 12-10-2023 at 02:36 AM.

2004 1.6 Auto Rust Free
      Thanks