•  

Thread: Tire Pressure Moniters

Should I keep it?
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks

Tire Pressure Moniters

Is there a way to dissable the system. AKA shut the light off. I do not want this on my car. I think its a worthless piece of information as i have never used it before... AND i have had new tires and wheels on it for a day, and it only came on, on the drive home from work...... So it didnt work anyways... Would it be as easy to just pull the light out of the dash, or is there a fuse somewhere?

I did a search, didnt find anything i needed.

I'll keep it and add a turbo
      Thanks

Re: Tire Pressure Moniters

I am sure there is probably a fuse for TPMS, either in the side panel or under the hood.

I personally haven't had any problems with the TPMS in my 08 LT. The only time it came on was when there was more than a 5 pound difference in tire pressure, which to me, helped, When it came on more than once, and I found it was te same tire losing air, I took it to the tire shop and they found a drill bit in one of my tires.
      If in fact it came on only while you were on your way home, after having your tires on for a day, I would suggest you check your pressure. One may be over pressure, or under pressure. The Aveo with stock tires says proper pressure is 34 pounds. I usually keep mine at 38, and check them weekly. the only time TPMS ever came on was when I was losing pressure in the one tire.
      With new tires other posibilities are improper seal, leaking valve stem, and plain old errors in airing the tires up at the tire shop. not to mention hot pressure vs cold pressure.
      Also, if you bought new rims, and they installed the TPMS sensors on the new wheels, they may have fouled one of them up, or improperly installed them.
      If you didn't have TPMS installed on the new wheels, that may be the problem.
      4 wheels, 4 doors, 4 cylinders, 8 speakers, and 1 loose nut on the steering wheel driving the car!