•  

Thread: Hellp!

What's wrong with my car?
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks

Question Hellp!

Hey, I am a female college student who knows nothing about cars so I need some advice. Last year in May i went and got a 2005 chevy aveo with 83,000 miles on it. They wanted 7500 and I put 1500 down on it. The same day I drove it off the lot, it ran hot and I had to pull over. Comes to find out the gaskets on the manifold were leaking and had oil shooting out. The car lot fixed this and gave me a loaner car free of charge of course. When I got the car back, I had not drove a mile and it ran hot again and I took it back. This time the thermostat hose had busted and once again the car lot fixed this with no problem. I had electrical problems with the car such as the tail lights did not work because they light fixture was rigged together and the inside lights didnt work because the dimmer switch was messed up. Then one of my cluster box had to be replaced because it was starting to melt and it caused my tail lights not to work. Well now wit the car having 112,000 miles on it my timing belt broke, rephrase that it split down the middle, June 10. In February I got the timing belt checked, and I was told it looked fine, and it looked like the timing belt had been replaced recently. So far I have came out of pocket $600 bucks and the car is still not fixed. One mechanic thought it didnt mess up anything but after replacing the belt and the component he found out it messed up the valves. Then the car lot came and towed it now they keep giving me the run around. First excuse was the first mechanic didnt set the timing back right, then it was that he had to replace some off the valves and now they claim the head gasket and stuff will b in soon and my car will be ready next week, but my question is do I want this car back.. I still owe like 5000 on it, I go to school 4 hours away from the car lot, so if it tears up again, Im screwed!. I dont want to mess up my credit, but