•  

Thread: Scan Tool ???

Should I keep it?
      Thanks

Scan Tool ???

Newbie here, wanting to buy a OBD2 Auto Scanner for my 07 Aveo5. Just wanted to know from all the Forum members who might have their own, what would be a good little all around scan tool for my Aveo5 ?

I am not interested in buying a scanner that has all the whistles and bells that I will never use, just one that will read the codes and maybe relearn the ECM if need be.

I bought my 07 Aveo5 new in Anchorage AK, and it has 135,000 on it now. I do all my own service and maintenance on it and for the most part, its been a pretty good little roller skate. I know the day will come when the check engine light will come on and I want to be ready for it.

I am glad to have found your Aveo Forum with all the other Aveo owners who share their input on this little car. I plan to keep it and try for the 500,000 on the original motor and manual trans. A side from the Rocks, Deer and Hailstones, the rest of the car gets religious service and maintenance.

I'll keep it and add a turbo
      Thanks
      I have an Actron CP9580, useful for OBD codes but it will not read GM body & airbag codes.

What do you mean there's no turbo? PoisonIvy's Avatar
      Thanks
      It's not in front of me, but I think I have this one here:
      http://www.amazon.com/Autel-MaxiScan...3418299&sr=1-3
      All I really need. It gives you the basic code, which you can google for more detailed info. Plus once you google the code and your specific car, you usually get a good shot of determining the problem. It'll reset any check engine light as well. There's even cheaper ones out there.

I also got a ScanGauge II for father's day this year. It's pretty cool, you can keep an eye on temperatures, gas mileage, etc. Plus it acts as a basic scan tool as well.

Lifetime owner
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      I have a cable i bought on ebay, and movi. Its Apple specific, but does a lot more than a basic scan tool.