•  

Thread: Chasing electrical ghost in 2008 Aveo.

What's wrong with my car?
      Thanks

Chasing electrical ghost in 2008 Aveo.

Hi all,
      This is my first post. I am working on my Father in-laws 2008 Aveo sedan. It has 77000 miles on it. Has been serviced regularly and has always been kept under a carport.
      This car is the last one he and his wife purchased together before she died. He is in a wheel chair and no longer drives but wants to keep his car. He is on a fixed income, earlier this year the alternator went out and he had it towed to a dealer, they charged him 600 dollars for an alternator and a battery. It did not need a battery.

About me, I am in my early 50s. Retired Navy and Retired from the electrical/Communications industry. I was a licensed electrician in several states before I retired. I still play with computers and electronics as a hobby among other things (Lionel trains, wood working, fishing and restoring old tools)

the car car has the following problems,
      will not shift out of park.
      No Dash lights
      no daytime running lights
      no fog lights.
      no chime
      parking lights will come on without the switch being turned.
      Dash lights come on with no switch being turned or key in ignition.

This may not be a complete list of the electrical problems, these are the ones I have seen happen.

What I have tested and tried.
      i checked the break light switch and interlock solenoid, both tested fine. When testing voltage at the solenoid I read. No voltage from the pins on the connector, however I did read 12V from hot pin to chassis. I was able to jump in a test ground and the interlock system worked as it should.

i do have alldata For that car. In looking at the electrical and grounding diagrams I saw only a few common points. Multifunction switch (turn signal switch) grounding and fuse boxes.