•  

Thread: 6.5 speakers

just here to chill
      Thanks

6.5 speakers

So im going to be installing 6.5" speakers in my front doors and was wondering what all I will need. Ive heard conflicting things about what I need. Also keep in mind I'm a college student so the only "tool" I have is a pocket knife. Thanks!

What do you mean there's no turbo? PoisonIvy's Avatar
      Thanks
      These are mine.
      http://www.aveoforum.com/forum/f84/6...d-doors-19845/
      Not a very detailed write up, but it's pretty straight forward. You'll need at least 4 female 'faston' terminals. (I think that's what they're called.) They're a few pennies each, they may even come with some wiring with the new speakers. You'll need to cut the factory plug off the wiring that connected to the factory speaker. You could solder the wiring directly to the new speakers terminals, but that sucks if you want to remove them easily. Other then that you'll need the 1" spacers. $10 to $15 on a place like Amazon or Sonic Electronix. And then the speakers you buy need to be shallow mount, below 1 3/4" to be safe.

Actually the hardest part about the whole process will be removing the door panels. And there's plenty of examples on this forum. I'd recommend getting some panel removal tools. I know you're on a budget, but trust me it'll be $10 well spent and you'll use them over and over. Plus they'll save your panels/dash from getting chewed up.

just here to chill
      Thanks
      Did you install a custom radio as well?

Thanks