•  

Thread: Sidewinder’s Comprehensive Head Unit Install Guide

I'll keep it and add a turbo
      Thanks

Sidewinder’s Comprehensive Head Unit Install Guide

Sidewinder’s Comprehensive Head Unit Install Guide

This guide is written to help anyone who wishes to swap out the stock radio with their own after-market head unit. The hope is that my current documentation of this install will help whoever reads this to easily swap their head unit into the dash. Before this gets started though, I have a couple notes about this document that are important in regards to how these instructions apply.

First, this install was performed on the second generation redesigned dash. I do not know if any of these steps will apply to the first generation as I have ZERO knowledge of its design in comparison.

Secondly, this radio is the base radio WITHOUT ONSTAR. From my understanding OnStar can make this install infinitely more complicated. When we were finding the harness for the head unit, the plug and play OnStar option was around $130 if I recall correctly.

**Most importantly, I am not responsible for any damage you cause by following this guide. It is meant as that, a guide and a visual representation of how my install was performed. If you do not have the skill, knowledge or patience to perform a task like this, please go to a professional.**

Parts

I had a buddy of mine who works in a Futureshop install bay help me source the wiring harness and the dash mount kit. Thankfully these necessary pieces were in stock and I was able to get started right away. The wiring harness and dash kit both came from this manufacturer:

http://www.metraonline.com

Specifically, these were the parts that were used:

Metra Part # 99-3306 | Chevrolet Aveo Dash kit | Metra Online

Metra Part # 70-2105 | Chevrolet Impala wire harness | Metra Online