•  
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Replacing the water pump: remove cam gears??

Thanks

Replacing the water pump: remove cam gears??

I'm just getting started on my adventure to replace the timing belt in my new-to-me 2007 Aveo (85k miles). Since no one seems to have the Haynes or Chilton for this (stupid me! I thought it would have been published and readily available!), I've been reading the threads here over and over.

One item I'm not sure about it removing the water pump to replace it. (I bought a kit that came with a new one. Previous experience with my Toyota Camry tells me it's cheaper to replace the pump now than go back in there later.) I'm reading that removing the inner plastic cover makes removing the pump easier. But to do this, you have to remove the gears off the cam shafts??

I also bought the tool that's supposed to hold the cam gears in position so they don't shift after removing the timing belt. But if I have to remove the gears, then this tool is useless, yes?? And without the gears attached how *do* you keep the cams from moving??

Obviously, I'm not that far into the repair yet, so I have no visual for this. I'm just trying to do the next step correctly, instead of correcting the last step!

Any help is greatly appreciated!
      Ed

Thanks
      As long as you can remove the inner plastic shield I don't see why the gears would have to be removed. Here is a pic from when I swapped an 07 engine into my 05. The water pump is the small pulley on the left side.

From thread: http://www.aveoforum.com/forum/f103/...tml#post128492

Thanks
      Thanks for the pic, Daox. I do remember previously reading your thread. The cover looks like it will slip right out from underneath the pulleys. Is that correct?

From that picture, there appears to be only one bolt holding the cover?? (Just to the right of the water pump in the picture.) Or would there be another bolt if the heads were on?

Ed