•  
    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Thread: 2005 Aveo instrument Cluster Please Help

    1. #1
      What's wrong with my car?
      Join Date
      Jul 2014
      Location
      Canada
      Posts
      4
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      2005 Aveo instrument Cluster Please Help

      I have a 2005 Aveo instrument cluster and am having issues with the Tach/Fuel/Temp gauge area. I am thinking that it is not getting the proper volt/amp. Due to everything else is working great. I had my brother install an alarm system and he has gone out of town for a few weeks. Please Help.

      I am thinking he may have knicked the wires.

      when looking at the Instrument cluster connector.
      TACH pin# 3 WHT(at cluster) on the ECM pin# 15 GRY
      Temp Gauge pin# 4 WHT(at cluster) on the ECM pin# 6 WHT
      Fuel LEvel pin#1 WHT(at cluster) on ECM pin# 3 WHT



    2. #2
      What's wrong with my car?
      Join Date
      Jul 2014
      Location
      Canada
      Posts
      4
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Any body able to help with this? I really don't want to take it to the shop. Also I have tried everything to search for this. Even the service manual doesn't state the info.

    3. #3
      Timing belt broke, do I keep it? thehunterooo's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Tampa and Orlando
      Posts
      4,359
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
      Just for the heck of it, check all of your fuses if you have not already.

    4. #4
      What's wrong with my car?
      Join Date
      Jul 2014
      Location
      Canada
      Posts
      4
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      All fuses work okay. I have 14.3 DC and 9.3 AC at the pins for the cluster(see OP), went to Pick and Pull and grabbed another one. With the same results. This is for the tach, which I am more concerned about. I evened talked to the locale dealer and they where unable to give me an answer. I am thinking cause they want me to bring the car in.

      Talked with my brother and he said it was a clean install. I am at my wits end about this.

      Any help with be accepted.

    5. #5
      Lifetime owner
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Pittsburgh
      Posts
      8,010
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 162 Times in 135 Posts
      I would suspect a ground issue. But I can't say anything is caused by alarm, only because I can't look at aftermarket stuff.

      There could be a short to ground type issue depending on what what wired in where. Or where the alarm was grounded, if you shared a ground post with that circuit somehow.


    6. #6
      What's wrong with my car?
      Join Date
      Jul 2014
      Location
      Canada
      Posts
      4
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I checked all grounds, so far so good. I think I may know what the problem is.

      But I just want to confirm, casue I can't remember.

      When you turn the car on, does all your needles move at once or just stay at the bottom?

      I am thinking it may be the stepper motors in the instrument cluster it self.

    7. #7
      Lifetime owner
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Pittsburgh
      Posts
      8,010
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 162 Times in 135 Posts
      i am not sure the aveo uses the traditional GM stepper motors the are prone to failure.






    Similar Threads

    1. Instrument Cluster
      By JonB in forum Troubleshooting and Maintenance
      Replies: 10
      Last Post: 07-04-2020, 06:45 PM
    2. Add a DIC instrument cluster to a 2010 Aveo5 LS
      By wylee in forum General Discussion
      Replies: 74
      Last Post: 03-23-2019, 06:36 PM
    3. Instrument Cluster MOD (Hidden center display)
      By fbc in forum Audio, Video & Interior
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 05-29-2014, 02:16 AM
    4. working on The Instrument cluster
      By BBruins12 in forum Audio, Video & Interior
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 03-17-2014, 04:47 PM
    5. Instrument Cluster wiring?
      By fish277509 in forum Audio, Video & Interior
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 01-16-2009, 05:25 AM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •