•  
    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Thread: How many volts does stock stereo output? 2007

    1. #1
      What's wrong with my car?
      Join Date
      Mar 2014
      Location
      United States
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

      How many volts does stock stereo output? 2007

      I need to know how many volts the stock stereo outputs at. I run a kenwood KAC-2404s amp and recently switched from my aftermarket stereo back to stock because I wanted a cleaner look.

      The only problem is there are no RCA outputs on the stock headunit. The amp I use luckily accepts speaker level inputs.
      I hooked everything up, everything is working, and then that night the amp shuts off, after fumbling around for a while I determined that the problem was that I had blown my 50A fuse in the main power wire.
      I assume it is because i had the input sensitivity set improperly (around .7v).

      I could go through a ton of fuses trying to determine where to adjust the input sensitivity to, or i could ask you guys!



    2. #2
      Almost time to do my timing belt ontarian_frog's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Fredericton, NB
      Posts
      1,381
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
      High level input wouldn't blow the 50A fuse. You either were running the amp too hard, or have a bad ground connection.
      I leased Pontiac Wave from September 2006 to August 2011.

    3. #3
      What's wrong with my car?
      Join Date
      Mar 2014
      Location
      United States
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
      Quote Originally Posted by ontarian_frog View Post
      High level input wouldn't blow the 50A fuse. You either were running the amp too hard, or have a bad ground connection.
      I got the fuse replaced and the entire system souned like it was lacking power, the sound was washed out, tinny, almost no bass (even with 2 12s). I thought maybe i had damaged the amp, so to make sure it wasn't the headunit I played a song from my phone to the amp RCAs. Perfectly fine.

      I think I may have messed up the speaker signals when i was fumbling around with the amp. I need to go buy some butt crimps and ill redo it all. Right now the wires are twisted and hotglued.

      Could a lack of ground make speakers sound trashy?

    4. #4
      Almost time to do my timing belt xintersecty's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      West Union, SC
      Posts
      1,687
      Thanks
      86
      Thanked 179 Times in 156 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Kyleellwood View Post
      I think I may have messed up the speaker signals when i was fumbling around with the amp. I need to go buy some butt crimps and ill redo it all. Right now the wires are twisted and hotglued.

      Could a lack of ground make speakers sound trashy?
      Depends what you mean by lack of ground. Typically you are driving a coil from a pair of wires one of those wires is marked negative and then there is chassis ground from the car. You CAN NOT mix the two. Now the amp will need power and most aftermarket systems typically run a dedicated ground from the battery to the amp.

      You are better off using a wire nut before moving the butt crimp connectors. Twisting the wire and using hot glue as an insulator is just a bad practice as it's messy and you could have used a wire nut. Butt connectors is a good quality connection however soldering is the best with a shrink wrap.
      Please do not power off, firmware update pending.....

    5. The Following User Says Thank You to xintersecty For This Useful Post:

      Kyleellwood (04-28-2015)

    6. #5
      Still love my daily driver
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Location
      pa
      Posts
      800
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
      the speaker wires aren't going to cause the power fuse to blow. You screwed up something with your wiring.

    7. #6
      Almost time to do my timing belt ontarian_frog's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Fredericton, NB
      Posts
      1,381
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
      If it plays ok with the rca input, your problem is somewhere in your high level input circuit.
      I leased Pontiac Wave from September 2006 to August 2011.

    8. #7
      What's wrong with my car?
      Join Date
      Mar 2014
      Location
      United States
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
      Quote Originally Posted by ontarian_frog View Post
      If it plays ok with the rca input, your problem is somewhere in your high level input circuit.
      Yeah, that's what I determined. I figure it will be much more simple to invest in some of these. Especially because my system will only be getting more and more complicated in the months to come.

    9. #8
      Almost time to do my timing belt xintersecty's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      West Union, SC
      Posts
      1,687
      Thanks
      86
      Thanked 179 Times in 156 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Kyleellwood View Post
      Yeah, that's what I determined. I figure it will be much more simple to invest in some of these. Especially because my system will only be getting more and more complicated in the months to come.
      That is a good purchase decision. Make it easier and it takes care of filtering the noise too.
      Please do not power off, firmware update pending.....

    10. #9
      What's wrong with my car?
      Join Date
      Mar 2014
      Location
      United States
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
      Quote Originally Posted by xintersecty View Post
      That is a good purchase decision. Make it easier and it takes care of filtering the noise too.
      Surprisingly enough, there is actually no noise. I just made sure my ground connection was good from my amp to chassis and bam!





    Similar Threads

    1. Stereo Suround... Housing around the actual Stereo
      By Rick in forum General Discussion
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 11-27-2012, 05:08 PM
    2. how to remove the stock stereo ?
      By PERFECT_ESL in forum Audio, Video & Interior
      Replies: 20
      Last Post: 10-29-2012, 10:07 PM
    3. Help removing Stock 09 Aveo LT Stereo
      By inkedflesh in forum For Sale / Wanted
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 12-18-2011, 07:02 PM
    4. Cobalt Stock stereo on Aveo
      By cordova2009 in forum Audio, Video & Interior
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 05-05-2011, 01:23 AM
    5. 2007 Aveo Stereo turns on but no sound from speakers
      By blawson in forum Troubleshooting and Maintenance
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 07-31-2010, 03:51 AM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •