•  
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Help: Installing Power Locks (part of SP-101 alarm system)

What do you mean there's no turbo? PoisonIvy's Avatar
      Thanks
      No sweat. Glad to help. It wasn't long ago I was completely new to this as well. I'm by no means a pro, but I've become pretty comfortable giving a lot of car electronics a shot. The biggest thing you can do is master your Google Fu. It doesn't matter what it is, but someone on the internet has probably done it before you. The answers are out there, you just have to wade through the BS to find the answers.

From the link you provided, there's a couple higher rated reviews that explain that they DID have to purchase 2 relays. It looks fairly simple though. You can do it, just Google some youtube videos on "relay door locks install", etc. Take your time and watch some videos on how others do wiring of this sort. This may also be the first time you'll splice into wires and solder as well. It's not that hard, just do a search on technique and tips.

To add, the reason I didn't have to use separate relays, was my keyless entry/power door lock kit was essentially a box with relays and a remote sensor built in. Yours just operates a little different. They probably should have included the relays, and at least a couple comments echo that as well.

Also, if you haven't already come across this install info on Aveoforum, check it out:
      http://www.aveoforum.com/forum/f84/a...48/index3.html
      Edit - the kit in this link has the built in relays. You'll have a couple minutes extra wiring and external relays.

Last edited by PoisonIvy; 09-22-2015 at 10:26 PM.

2. The Following User Says Thank You to PoisonIvy For This Useful Post:

wolfforlunch (10-23-2015)

Should I keep it?
      Thanks
      Here are some pictures:
      Attached Images Attached Images   

Should I keep it?
      Thanks
      Quote Originally Posted by PoisonIvy View Post