•  
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Help: Installing Power Locks (part of SP-101 alarm system)

Should I keep it?
      Thanks

Help: Installing Power Locks (part of SP-101 alarm system)

Hey guys,

I'm new here and this is my first post, however I've been following this forum for a while now. I have a 2005 Aveo hatchback (base), and I'm trying to install SP-101 alarm system with powerlocks. Now I was able to mount the powerlock motors based on the instructions you guys so kindly provided on the forum, however, I do not know anything about the car electrical system, and I'm struggling to actually run the wires from the motors through the door and to the unit. This is my first time installing anything electrical in a car, so you can imagine I'm a rookie. I would be really thankful if someone could explain to me where and to what I would connect the wires from the powerlock motors, and what I would do with the wires coming from the main module. Pictures would be amazing if anyone is kind enough to provide them. I realize I'm asking a lot here but I would be very appreciative.

Cheers.

Thanks
      Welcome to the forum.

Didn't the alarm unit/locks come with installation instructions?

If not, I'd start by going to the manufacturer's website to look for them.

At a minimum, you need a wiring diagram so you know which wires connect where.

Should I keep it?
      Thanks
      Quote Originally Posted by MetroMPG View Post
      Welcome to the forum.

Didn't the alarm unit/locks come with installation instructions?

If not, I'd start by going to the manufacturer's website to look for them.

At a minimum, you need a wiring diagram so you know which wires connect where.

Thanks for your reply.

Right now I have the actuators installed on the doors. My first issue is that, the actuator wires are 22AWG and the wires that I bought to run the wiring from the actuators to under the dash are 20AWG, so would that be a problem if I connect them?