•  
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Water Pump Gasket and Timing Belt Repair

What's wrong with my car?
      Thanks

Water Pump Gasket and Timing Belt Repair

Guys,

Today I took my car to the local dealer to have my timing belt replaced, the cost was 555 +Tax. After they completed the repair, they called me and said they had bad news. The water pump was leaking as a result of the work they did, and that to fix the leak will cost me $300 in labor. He said the GM manuals do not advise to replace the waterpump o-ring, and the instruction say to turn the pump clockwise to get at something?. He said most of the time this works, but 5% of the time the gasket will leak. After refusing to pay at first, and 20 minutes of arguing, I finally offered to pay half. He again refused and insisted they are not at fault.

I was shocked to say the least. As a weekend mechanic, I would never attempt a job this big without replacing every gasket or ring in the path of the repair. In this regard, I feel that they are 100% responsible. Can anyone confirm or deny if what he says is true? I don't have the GM manuals, and I have filed a complaint with the GM Corporate Headquarters and I am expecting a call on Monday. If the manuals say to change the gasket, I have a good case. If not, I am probably scammed out $300. Any help or advice is appreciated.

Thanks!!

Last edited by ceberus; 02-02-2013 at 12:56 AM.

I'll keep it and add a turbo
      Thanks
      i dont see how turning the pump would stop a leak. the gasket is just a simple o ring. either way i would hold them responsible

What do you mean there's no turbo? Chevy Customer Svc's Avatar
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      Quote Originally Posted by ceberus View Post
      Guys,