•  
    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Thread: transmission swap on 07 aveo5

    1. #1
      What's wrong with my car?
      Join Date
      Jun 2014
      Location
      Kansas City
      Posts
      4
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      transmission swap on 07 aveo5

      I recently purchased an 07 aveo5 with 100k miles on it. The transmission was serviced at 80k miles according to the reciept and service sticker. 2 months after I purchased it the speedomtere stoped working and the car only runs in 3rd gear. I took it to a transmission shop and the thought it was computer related and advised I take it to a dealer. I hauled it to the dealer and they claimed it was the TCM. They claim I couldnt use used parts and replaced it with a new one to the tune of $880. Well, that didnt fix it so now they claim the transmission is bad too and want to charge me $4600 for a certified tranny. No thank you! Anyway, I want replace thisone myself to save on cost and the local parts place has a low mile 06 or 08. Will either of these work wi th my 07?

      Thanks



    2. #2
      I'll keep it and add a turbo thankful_ragamuffin's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Location
      Linden, AB, Canada
      Posts
      163
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
      Before you get too far into a swap, check the trans filter. At the shop we found that the Napa filters we had been using are now made in China and the "reverse engineers" can't seem to read a micrometer correctly and the filters fall off after a while. A trans that sucks air does funky things. We only use OEM filters now.

    3. #3
      Still love my daily driver
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Location
      pa
      Posts
      800
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
      If it is the same trans then yes, it should work.

    4. #4
      Lifetime owner
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Pittsburgh
      Posts
      8,004
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 160 Times in 133 Posts
      i would drop the pan and check out whats in there.. the filter, the actuators, etc.


    5. #5
      What's wrong with my car?
      Join Date
      Jun 2014
      Location
      Kansas City
      Posts
      4
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thanks for the replies. If the speedometer isnt working but the pickup is supposed to be new could that be just contamination on the internal pickup? Im going to the dealer tomorrow and pick it up. I will do some of my own investigation.
      Last edited by f-five; 06-02-2014 at 03:04 AM.

    6. #6
      What's wrong with my car?
      Join Date
      Jun 2014
      Location
      Kansas City
      Posts
      4
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Latest update. We replaced the transmission and the lower speedometer pickup gear was broken, so now we have a working speedometer. The main issue is still there where the car is stuck in limp-home-mode (3rd gear only). The error codes now call for the camshaft position sensor to be replaced. We did that and it looks like someone has been in there before as well. Cleared the code and it immediately comes right back. The CPS is a simple device, what could I be missing here? Thanks

    7. #7
      Almost time to do my timing belt
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Location
      Northeast
      Posts
      1,331
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 98 Times in 90 Posts
      Have you replaced the speed sensor yet during this painful journey?

    8. #8
      Lifetime owner
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Pittsburgh
      Posts
      8,004
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 160 Times in 133 Posts
      What is the code? you might need to do a relearn.


    9. #9
      LXV-SCOOTADRIVE, ON! 2010AveoLT's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      Dickson, TN
      Posts
      841
      Thanks
      100
      Thanked 73 Times in 62 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by petrified.rabbit View Post
      What is the code? you might need to do a relearn.
      I agree with Rabbit, What is the CPS Code in Question? this might be a situation where you might only have to do a Cam-Crank Relearn.

    10. #10
      What's wrong with my car?
      Join Date
      Jun 2014
      Location
      Kansas City
      Posts
      4
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I think you guys are on to something. So what is the cam-crank relearn process?





    Similar Threads

    1. Transmission, engine, can't tell what's going on....
      By mobile in forum Troubleshooting and Maintenance
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 08-21-2013, 05:37 PM
    2. Is My Transmission Going Bad?
      By b.waniger in forum Engine & Drivetrain
      Replies: 10
      Last Post: 12-27-2012, 02:08 PM
    3. Need Transmission Help
      By wiseguydave in forum Troubleshooting and Maintenance
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 09-24-2012, 09:27 PM
    4. Transmission oil
      By kashak in forum Troubleshooting and Maintenance
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 03-22-2012, 06:26 PM
    5. If not transmission...
      By bradmax in forum Troubleshooting and Maintenance
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: 03-22-2012, 07:00 AM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •