•  
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: Replacing the alternator

What's wrong with my car?
      Thanks
      Quote Originally Posted by smrh20 View Post
      there is an easy way to do this, you do not have to take off the manifold, you do not have to take off manifold brackets. all you do is take off the mounting the alternator sits on. there are 3 screws. then u take the altanator with bracket it sits on ,off from the bottom of car and then unscrew the last screw off the alternator that is still connected to the "alt mounting."
      Exactly. 20-30 minute job, and people are making it sound like brain surgery.

But people will always have the mindset of "I don't care how you said to do it, I'm a newb and will do it my own way." Then come back to say you were right, but won't actually admit it.

Remember people, disconnect the battery first. Ground is first off, last to put on.

Almost time to do my timing belt
      Thanks
      Quote Originally Posted by 79jasper View Post
      But people will always have the mindset of "I don't care how you said to do it, I'm a newb and will do it my own way." Then come back to say you were right, but won't actually admit it.
      I take part in multiple auto forums, and based on my own experience, don't agree with that statement in any way. I've seen a number of folks reply to advice that I've given, confirming it worked for them. And on the other side, I've received tons of help from reading what other have done, and have tried to confirm positive results to them as well. And I personally know of many other guys who do the same as I do.