•  

Thread: No constant speed during break-in

What's wrong with my car?
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks

No constant speed during break-in

Just curious. The owners manual states in section 3-17:
      Do not drive at any one constant speed, fast or slow, for the first 805 km (500 miles).
      Do not make full-throttle starts. Avoid downshifting to brake or slow the vehicle.
      I assume thing break in better when the engine sees the throttle open (when speeding up), but why? (I'm not a mechanic, hence my question)

Lifetime owner
      Thanks

Re: No constant speed during break-in

from what i have heard through various people (old timers), the belief is having the various rpm during breaking is for even wear of the rings to the cylinder wall. I would do this if i put the pistons in myself on my own engine. but at the same time, built races engine go race not driven 500 miles before the track, so from my experience, break it in the way you are going to drive it.

thats my opinion though.

Should I keep it?
      Thanks

Re: No constant speed during break-in

Break in periods should be variable speed for the most part because while accelerating, there is more downward pressure applied to the rings from combustion, and while decelerating (still in gear, engine braking) the vacuum applied helps to hold the rings against the cylinder walls to allow them to seat under pressure (quicker, more accurate break in time).

Those are the only two realities that I know of to the "old ways" of breaking in an engine... it doesn't really matter what oil you use, synthetic or otherwise, except there is still a preference for high-zinc oils, which are normally dino-based.