•  
    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Thread: Need to find out why this has no wire connected to it!

    1. #1
      Senior Member josefb134's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Location
      Illinois
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Exclamation What is this?!

      I am not sure exactly what this is or what it does, but it seems to me like it is a vacuum that controls either air intake or fuel input but it has a little vacuum hose coming from the front of it, its the silver piece that is circled in red if you can see it. Id like to know what it is and what it does if anyone knows.

      This is a side view of it and the upper left hand circle is just circling the unit again, and the right hand circle is circling an electrical plug in or something that should be plugged into this. There are metal prongs in the back of the rectangle plastic piece on the right so something should definitely be hooked up i think... I'm not sure why nothing us hooked up to it because i should be getting a check engine light for it or something to tell me what isn't plugged in and giving readings to the computer..

      Thank you for your help and for reading the thread! If you have any knowledge or even a guess of what it is, then that would be great! Feel free to comment!


      Attached Images Attached Images   
      Last edited by josefb134; 12-10-2012 at 02:37 AM.

    2. #2
      I'll keep it and add a turbo
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Fort McMurray
      Posts
      193
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I think its the Brake Booster, The service manual is kinda vague, but thats the only part with a hose, ill check mine tomorrow, but i think mine doesn't have anything plugged in either.

      Edit, it looks like the fuel pressure regulator, later on in the manual it says to remove the fuel line and has a drawing of that.
      Last edited by kevin7898; 12-16-2012 at 06:40 AM.

    3. #3
      Senior Member josefb134's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Location
      Illinois
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Thanks for replying! The only thing is, i looked on autozone.com and the fuel pressure regulator sits inside the gas tank... and its not the brake booster... i just dont know what exactly it is and i dont know if it not being plugged in to anything could be the reason why sometimes my rpms will jump to 3000 rpms and stay there at idle...

    4. #4
      I'll keep it and add a turbo
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Fort McMurray
      Posts
      193
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      i just looked at mine, i don't even have a connector, but i pushed on the rod on the bottom and it made a vacuum noise and liquid noise, so im assuming its fuel related.

    5. #5
      Senior Member josefb134's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Location
      Illinois
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Hmm maybe it is, i dont know lol But thank you very much for the information! I just wish the aveo had a diagram labeling every part in the engine compartment to make this stuff easier on us! Haha

    6. #6
      What's wrong with my car?
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Location
      USA
      Posts
      18
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      This is Vacuum hose belong to the VGIS ACTUATOR tank the one you market on the red circle

      Please see and read the attach files for proper installation



      Name:  VGIS VARIABLE GEOMERY INDUCTION SYSTEM.jpg
Views: 2528
Size:  247.2 KBName:  VGIS VARIABLE GEOMERY INDUCTION SYSTEM 2.jpg
Views: 2183
Size:  250.6 KB


      If you need more information about your Chevrolet Aveo I will be more than glad to you help, I got a lot of experience with Chevrolet Aveo Engine specially with engine (F16D3) E-TECH II

    7. #7
      Senior Member josefb134's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Location
      Illinois
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Thank you! so what exactly is the actuator for? I guess what I'm asking is what does it do and should there be anything connected to the spot in the back?

    8. #8
      I'll keep it and add a turbo
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Fort McMurray
      Posts
      193
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      It changes the intake path, at 4500 rpm, at low rpm the path is long and narrow and at high rpm its short and fat, it maximzes engine power and effinciency

    9. #9
      Senior Member josefb134's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Location
      Illinois
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      ohh, okay thank you! should i be worried about there not being anything hooked up to it electrically?

    10. #10
      I'll keep it and add a turbo
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Fort McMurray
      Posts
      193
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Look at the technical drawing posted by clinton snow, then you should understand





    Similar Threads

    1. no HORN pls help cant find the wire
      By cash52 in forum General Discussion
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 05-12-2011, 08:25 PM
    2. eBay Find of the Day
      By LarsBud in forum Audio, Video & Interior
      Replies: 18
      Last Post: 09-06-2010, 07:51 PM
    3. Another Find for today:
      By petrified.rabbit in forum Exterior
      Replies: 25
      Last Post: 09-02-2009, 03:25 AM
    4. Where can i find....
      By in forum Audio, Video & Interior
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 03-07-2007, 10:21 PM
    5. Where to find gaskets?
      By aveogyrl in forum Engine & Drivetrain
      Replies: 12
      Last Post: 01-28-2007, 07:07 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •