•  
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with 2010 Aveo engine swap

What's wrong with my car?
      Thanks

Help with 2010 Aveo engine swap

(edit) You can basically skip this first post, thanks for looking. The problem now is that it runs at high RPM, over 3,000, but won't idle and doesn't respond to the throttle normally below 2,500-3,000rpm. (edit)

Hi all, I signed up here hoping to find technical info during my engine swap.

This car isn't mine but I've been doing work on it for a few years for a friend. Two weeks ago the dealer helpfully replaced her water pump for $800 while failing to notice the shot head gasket, now it's in my garage with a 60,000mi engine waiting to be swapped in.

I'm a fairly capable amateur mechanic and this isn't my first time pulling an engine but if anyone has tech specs or gottchas or tips they would be much appreciated.

Off the top of my head right now: Are the flywheel bolts, engine mount bolts and axle flange bolts reusable or torque to yield? Donor engine is an auto, car its going into is a 5spd so I have to transfer the flywheel and clutch over.

Thanks in advance for any help!
      -Pellucid

Last edited by pellucid; 01-23-2016 at 04:53 PM.

Thanks

Starts, won't run.

Hello all. There were some delays along the way but the car is not almost running and I'm hoping someone here can point me in the right direction.

I've installed the new (used) engine and everything is hooked, plumbed and filled. Somewhere I'd seen a "learn" procedure for installing a new engine but I haven't been able to find it again. Today I decided that if it will start and idle it's probably smart enough to adapt itself to a different throttle body and sensors. Well... it won't.