•  
    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Thread: Crank Relearn procedure

    1. #1
      What's wrong with my car?
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Location
      Michigan
      Posts
      9
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Crank Relearn procedure

      OK, I have tried doing the crank relearn procedure for my car after the 05 to 08 engine swap to clear my P0300, the problem is that during the test it keeps saying "test in progress" this happens for as long as i let it. The computer will not take the releearn from the Tech2. Is there any reason that this would be happening? I have tried the procedure 6 times. Has anyone else had this problem? I have preformed tons of relearns on other cars without a problem.



    2. #2
      Wants moh powah
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Location
      Northern NH
      Posts
      309
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Does it ever cut out? I think I screwed it up the first time because I didn't rev the engine high enough for it to cut out.
      Sorry GM, the Turbo Sonic was priced too close to the Focus ST. I gots me a Ford.


    3. #3
      What's wrong with my car?
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Location
      Michigan
      Posts
      9
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      It does, I reved it up til it hits the rev limiter, i did this 5 times just as the tool suggests. Then I apply the brake and the tool just says "test in progress" and it does this for as long as i let it. It just doesn't want to relearn.

    4. #4
      Administrator Daox's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Wisconsin
      Posts
      2,523
      Thanks
      172
      Thanked 90 Times in 79 Posts
      The independent shop I took my car to had trouble doing it as well with the tool they borrowed. I had to take it to the dealer...

    5. #5
      What's wrong with my car?
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Location
      Michigan
      Posts
      9
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I have a tech2 it has all of the current calibrations, I worked for a GM dealer for 8 years.

    6. #6
      Administrator Daox's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Wisconsin
      Posts
      2,523
      Thanks
      172
      Thanked 90 Times in 79 Posts
      I dunno what the trick is, but from my reading many people have had issues getting it to relearn correctly.

    7. #7
      What's wrong with my car?
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Location
      Michigan
      Posts
      9
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I guess hold it to floof til something major happens....haha

    8. #8
      Lifetime owner
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Pittsburgh
      Posts
      8,013
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 167 Times in 139 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by snak985 View Post
      I guess hold it to floof til something major happens....haha

      i think i read that in a gm manual once..


    9. #9
      Should I keep it?
      Join Date
      Mar 2015
      Location
      Los Angeles
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
      has this procedure have to be done every time an engine is replaced in a Chevy Aveo?

      I'm getting the P0300 after I did replace the engine, I asked a couple local shops about the CASE Relearn procedure, one guy say the Chevy Aveo doesn't need it, that it might be the Catalyst Converter, in another shop they said it must be something else like the spark plugs but it doesn't need to be reprogramed.
      In case I did replace the sparkplugs and wires but the check engine with the code P0300 keeps coming back.





    Similar Threads

    1. Disconnecting the battery & relearn procedures
      By Weirdo_Joe in forum Engine & Drivetrain
      Replies: 11
      Last Post: 09-19-2013, 09:42 AM
    2. My first problem! (Engine won't crank - lights dim)
      By Avezoh in forum Troubleshooting and Maintenance
      Replies: 26
      Last Post: 10-06-2010, 04:27 AM
    3. +20 Crank Horsepower, possible N/A?
      By Sidewinder in forum Engine & Drivetrain
      Replies: 9
      Last Post: 10-02-2010, 04:01 AM
    4. Removing the window crank...
      By Schwartz1986 in forum Audio, Video & Interior
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: 02-17-2008, 11:20 PM
    5. crank scraper
      By AVE0SAM in forum Engine & Drivetrain
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 12-13-2006, 03:32 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •