•  
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cam shaft position sensor issues.

What's wrong with my car?
      Thanks

Cam shaft position sensor issues.

I am really new to this Aveo life. Got our daughter an 07 and it was running great. 150k on it, but very well maintained by a family member. Our daughter was driving it last night and all the sudden she said it started making a loud noise and lost most engine power. The tick is very loud and upon first glance I was sure it was extremely low on oil. However it was not, and the oil on the stick was barely even dirty. Ran the codes and the only one popping up is the camshaft position sensor. I cleared it and made it pop back up multiple times. I tried to test drive it but it acts like it’s running on one cylinder. Lol. I have ordered the factory sensor and will install it this weekend. My main question here is, did it do any lasting damage? I have never heard a motor make such a horrid tick over a cam sensor. Any thoughts or suggestions?

Almost time to do my timing belt
      Thanks
      I recommend that you remove the top timing belt cover and check to make sure the cam sensor didn't somehow come loose and is now making contact with the belt, BEFORE starting it up again.

Should I keep it?
      Thanks
      Most likely the cam sensor has failed. That can make an engine run poorly, shake and make a lot of unsettling noises. Wouldn't be a bad idea to check the condition of your timing belt and make sure its timed right as well. Its extremely unlikely that the sensor became loose. Good luck!

Thanks