Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
      Timing belt broke, do I keep it? thehunterooo's Avatar
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks

Anyone use premium gasoline?

Wonder if it would run better, and cleaner too

What do you mean there's no turbo? paulsaveo's Avatar
      Thanks
      This may be an older topic, but i need to add my 2 cents LOL. When I run regular unleaded in my Aveo, I average 28mpg, (mostly city driving) when I run premium unleaded, I average 32mpg an extra 40 miles of driving to me is worth the $1.50 to $2.00 fill up difference. Back in the day, when I was a Lincoln Tech student, we had a homework assignment to go to a gas station and obtain a sample of gas, over the time frame of 2 weeks, everyones samples had a chance to settle. their were huge differences between Gas stations, most big names were better than smaller names. Im in Texas, we had several samples from multiple racetrac locations through out dallas and Fort Worth, from 6 or 7 racetrac samples, their were all about 35 percent water and all had debris floating in it.

Lifetime owner
      Thanks
      i'll post in the zombie thread.

it is likely the switch octanes of the crap you/we all call "gas" will increase mpg. But it is not the Octane change that increases fuel mileage. It is most like the amount of ethanol in the gas. You see those pumps that say up to 10%? well regular most likely has the 10%, where as premium might only have 8% Super might have 6% .(regional names? 87, 89, 91ish respectively). ethanol is not as fuel efficient as gas is. So if you run 100% true fuel, then the mpg wont change with octane changes. but the displacement of the ethanol will..

How ever at the same time you risk having unburned fuel into the exhaust, eventually clogging your cat and seizing the engine. You might pick up timing issues. The added octane does not burn the ethanol more efficiently.. its just there possibly is less there.