•  
    Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 04 Aveo Hatchback getting new engine!

What's wrong with my car?
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks

04 Aveo Hatchback getting new engine!

hello everyone. I just joined this forum today and decided to document my engine replacement. I recently traded an 04 Aveo for a minivan. The Aveo had a broken timing belt and I was told the engine needs replaced. The car is in pretty nice shape, other than the engine. It has 91k miles and no rust so I think it will be worth fixing. I want to document as I progress through this project much like this post: http://www.aveoforum.com/forum/f103/...epaired-10191/

I would love to shake this guy's hand because this post convinced me to attempt this project. I really appreciated all of the information he provided. I am NOT a mechanic so this is going to be a bit of a challenge for me. I am a computer programmer/systems analyst by day, and a "fix whatever the kids broke" dad by night. So please be kind with your comments as my lack of professional mechanical ability will be obvious. But my skills as a computer programmer usually allow me to figure just about anything out.

So here are a few pics of the car... I will post more as I progress and I look forward to getting to know some of you guys on here and hopefully will get some helpful tips. Thanks!! JP

Name:  DSCN5215.jpg
Views: 1160
Size:  88.6 KB

Name:  DSCN5214.jpg
Views: 1125
Size:  89.4 KB

Timing belt broke, do I keep it? thehunterooo's Avatar
      Thanks
      Welcome, body looks excellent,do you know the extent of the damage? (how much did you "pay" for it if you do not mind?). A new engine would be the best route, but if everything looks good on the lower end, you may just need to buy a head off eBay. The timing on the car is tricky, you will need to be very careful so you do not lose the new engine

You will find a lot of useful information here though, just not from me

Thanks