•  

Thread: Just starting out...a few questions...

What's wrong with my car?
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks

Just starting out...a few questions...

I have a 2009 AVEO LT Sedan. I want to start with a few simple upgrades and go from there. I am new to car modification so go easy on me .

First, intake...

I have not seen any 2009 Aveo cold air intake kits. It was suggested that I just drop a K&N easy fit filter in but I cant help but think I would be better off just taking the box out and making a custom cold air intake. What is the best option? I am open to all suggestions. (I considered fitting the cold air filter on the existing, factory piping. That way I dont have to worry with the sensors. Any thoughts on this?)

Second, spark plugs...

I stopped by my local O'reilly Auto Parts stores and didnt get much help. It was suggested that I go with copper spark plugs but when I told the guy at the counter that, he laughed and said that I should stick with platinum. Again, what do you suggest? I am open to any suggestions and money isnt a big deal.

Third, not getting carried away...

What are some things that I can do to better gas mileage, improve the ride, improve the overall look and get a little more kick out of the car without going overboard? Currently, I have tinted the windows. I am going to black out the Chevy insignia and remove the AVEO LT insignia. I am shopping around for some good sports suspension because I want to improve the ride and I want the car to sit lower. I am also considering a performance header and exhaust.

That is all. Please forgive me for such a long post! Remember, I am new to car modification and working under the hood but I am willing to learn and put in time to do research. Thanks for your time.

Thanks