•  
    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Thread: Aveo5 2010 - Door Lock Actuator DIY Replacement (Wiring?)

    1. #1
      What's wrong with my car?
      Join Date
      Nov 2018
      Location
      Canada
      Posts
      4
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Aveo5 2010 - Door Lock Actuator DIY Replacement (Wiring?)

      Hello,

      I have a 2010 Aveo 5 doors that I love very much, unfortunately the driver door doesn' t lock/unlock remotely anymore(the other doors work fine), so I bought a universal actuator from amazon, and tried to install it to force the door to open/close remotely.

      Turns out, there are 6 wires in the door, and only 2 wires on the actuator that I bought, I tested the voltage of the wires in the door, some of the are used to lock/unlock other doors, but I can't seem to find the right combination of wires that provide +12V/-12V on lock/unlock.

      I would really appriciate if any of you had some useful information on how to make this work, pictures in attachments.

      I repaired the head light, washer fluid pump and horn on my own, so this little part is the only thing left for me to fix in order to have it perfect!

      Thank you, looking forward for your replies!


      Attached Images Attached Images    

    2. #2
      Administrator Daox's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Wisconsin
      Posts
      2,463
      Thanks
      154
      Thanked 79 Times in 68 Posts
      Just trying to clarify. There were 6 wires going to your OE door lock actuator?

    3. #3
      What's wrong with my car?
      Join Date
      Nov 2018
      Location
      Canada
      Posts
      4
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I FINALLY FIXED IT


      I went to a scrap yard and salvaged a door actuator from a 2010 aveo5, which in turn helped me understand how the mechanism works (because it's not my car so I completely destroyed the door but learned how it worked lol)

      My actuator was working perfectly, there are 2 connectors, one with two wires (Brown and Grey), they provide +12/-12V when you lock/Unlock, with one of them serving as ground when the other has voltage.

      the second connector has 4 wires, and is connected to the sensors that manage the other doors and the alarm.

      My problem was that the brown wire was cut somewhere, I couldn't find it, so I passed a new wire to the door and connected it to the brown wire that was going to the rear door (which provies +12V when you unlock, and that I knew was funcitonal)

      Now everything is working.

      I hope I put in enough details for future visitors with the same problem.

    4. #4
      I'll keep it and add a turbo gclark8's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      Perth Australia
      Posts
      215
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts
      This discovery begs the question:
      Have you found a way for the Remote/Key to just unlock the driver's door and not all 4 doors?
      May i suggest an isolation switch somewhere inside, for example on the door arm rest?




      Last edited by gclark8; 11-09-2018 at 03:35 AM.

    Similar Threads

    1. NEW Camshaft Actuator Solenoid but no voltage at the connector
      By trucheli in forum Engine & Drivetrain
      Replies: 11
      Last Post: 09-23-2018, 06:05 PM
    2. Camshaft Actuator Solenoid are good, but I got zero voltage on the connectors
      By trucheli in forum Troubleshooting and Maintenance
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 09-05-2018, 10:53 PM
    3. Replies: 0
      Last Post: 04-10-2017, 04:30 AM
    4. Replies: 0
      Last Post: 05-07-2016, 07:43 PM
    5. Anyone's door lock fall inside the door?.
      By ClintCart in forum Exterior
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 09-02-2010, 01:28 AM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •