•  

Thread: P0342 Need HELP!!

What's wrong with my car?
      Thanks

Angry P0342 Need HELP!!

Hi, im new to the aveo forum, but not new to cars.. thanks in advance for the help!

OK so.... stupid aveo drives and feels like its in limp mode... no power, running rough, etc. etc. CEL is on with code p0342 Cam position sensor.
      changed sensor, deleted codes ( i have obd reader), 3 seconds and light is back on with same code (did this over and over a handfull of times). Drove car about 20 miles, power is back, all seems well, light is still on though with 0342. Car sits over night, runs like absolute crap in AM. Read something about crankshaft sensor might be related, replaced crank sensor, still no change.
      Crank sensor is functioning properly for sure, when car is on, i remove crank sensor, car stalls out, check.
      Car is running, i disconnect cam sensor, no change, no difference... is this normal? Or is there possibility that I bought a bad/malfunctioning sensor?
      Next day, I read more, then check wiring for cam pos sensor plug, all fine, no grounding wires, no exposed wire. I have current and voltage going to plug for cam pos sensor. I also take things apart and check timing. timing IS off.. I fix timing, arrow on bottom sprocket pointing down and a tad towards firewall, cam marks facing in towards each other... Check...
      I reset light, 3 seconds pass, light is back on. I drive around car, still running crappy, turn off. turn back on reset light, light back on 3 later again. i drove it around 10 miles, deleted codes again, light still back on 3 seconds later..

THE F*CK*NG light is STILL ON!!!!!!!! SHOOT me plz!

Called a few mechanic friends.. they all said it sounds like i have done all tests and the next thing may be that the ECU/ECM is bad... seriously??

i seriously am ready to aim for a cliff, put it in drive, stand back and wave goodbye ...

someone please tell me that i missed something.

Almost time to do my timing belt