•  
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Help! Car ran for 4 min after timing belt replacement and now won't start.

Lifetime owner
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      Quote Originally Posted by avguy View Post
      Don't want to hijack the thread, but I'm not understanding this. I have no experience with something like this actually happening, but would expect the engine to just start misfiring badly and quickly shut down because of it. Why would the valves get bent if it was just the balancer not in sync, but everything with the timing belt was still ok, maintaining proper valve/piston movement? What am I not understanding about this?
      The keyway would be holding the timing gear in place, not the balancer. So if the keyway broke, the timing belt would not be turning in time with the crank = bent valves.

Quote Originally Posted by Player1111 View Post
      ...I was thinking, does the aveo have a knock sensor? Is it possible that the knock sensor could be sending a signal to cut spark or fuel? The only reason I wonder is becuase when I haven't been cranking on the car for a while, when I go to start it, the car catches for a few revs before it seems to loose the urge to turn over. It's almost like some protective circuit is kicking in...
      it does have an oil pressure switch on the back of the engine near the timing cover, this if oil pressure is not present it cuts spark (i believe).

about the backfiring on starting fluid, i think you need to do a cylinder leak down test, if you have a better compression tester that has the airline style fitting in it, then you can cheat and use that, put a cylinder at top dead center, put the line onto it and pump in some air (not 90lbs, start with just a little). listen to the intake, and exhaust for air movement, if the cylinder is sealed, then you should not hear anything. Where did you get the head and valves? 140 psi compression is good, but you should not be able to backfire.