•  

Thread: Engine Ticking Noise After Timing Belt Swap

Should I keep it?
      Thanks

Engine Ticking Noise After Timing Belt Swap

My girlfriend has an 05 Aveo with 110k. Recently decided to do the timing belt after it developed a slow knocking noise from the timing cover. This is what greeted me when I pulled that top cover. I watched as the belt went around the sprockets and the broken part slapped the timing cover. I thought I was in the clear since I had found my noise (and before it let go). The exhaust cam may have skipped one tooth as a result of the last belt (or the belt slackened enough to make it appear that way), but it's definitely lined up now.

Name:  14570480_603702469801764_5185992363483095391_n.jpg
Views: 2776
Size:  69.6 KB

I'm not a mechanic, but I have been wrenching on cars as a hobby since I was younger, so it was something I was able to tackle. I followed the solid guide I found here, thanks for that!

Now when it runs it has a different knocking noise that's much higher pitched and faster. I grabbed a compression gauge thinking it must have bent a valve and THAT was the knocking noise instead. The compression was (1-4): 203, 210, 210, 201. It runs fine beyond the ticking noise. That doesn't really say bent valve to me. I would hate to pull the head for no reason. I did the head gaskets on my Grand Prix and am not looking forward to a repeat, even though its only one head this time.

Anyways, I had to wait for a replacement rear timing cover to come in so the car sat apart with the valve cover off for a few days, obviously covered up though. I'm hoping it's just a stuck lifter. Check out the video and see if you have any thoughts. At the end of the video you can hear it change pitch slightly.https://youtu.be/DBNdLomNNdk

I'm thinking either stuck lifter, exhaust leak, bent valve, or a thrown bearing. I just don't want to to tear into it for no reason.