•  
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Coolant Leak behind Coil Pack

What's wrong with my car?
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks

Coolant Leak behind Coil Pack

Hi,

Odd story but my friend lets me borrow his Aveo to use until my new ordered Silverado comes in.. just sold mine and needed a vehicle.

Bad part is, today I just noticed a pretty extensive coolant leak. Parked the car at the store, heard it, smelled it. Let the car cool down for 2 hours, put in 1.1 gallon of water, and drove it home with the heater on just in case. Made the 10 mile drive just fine. Got home and there were drops coming from it still. Steam just right behind and below the coil pack. I let it cool again and added 0.5 gallons. So in 10 miles it lost half a gallon of water. Thats a pretty big leak, but not a straight out hole/cut.

Im a capable mechanic, but know nothing about Aveos, and its very dark here right now. Any experienced Aveo people have a clue at what is actually leaking? Hoping its something common and I can just order a common hose and have it back under way for my drive to work Monday.

So, any educated guesses on what is leaking right under and behind the ignition coil pack on the drivers side of the engine of an 05 Aveo automatic?

Thanks,
      Rick

Still love my daily driver Pickles's Avatar
      Thanks
      It sounds like the thermostat housing. Super common problem on the first gens, and very easy fix

Thanks
      Quote Originally Posted by Pickles View Post
      It sounds like the thermostat housing. Super common problem on the first gens, and very easy fix
      Unless the diagrams Ive seen online are wrong, that is on the other side of the engine.

The coil packs on this car are on the right side. The thermostat is on the left.

My leak is right behind and below the coil packs.

I wont be able to look at the car again till its dark but I suppose with enough light I can just figure it out.

Any other ideas from Aveo owners?