•  

Thread: Cleaning of Throttle Body & intake manifold

What's wrong with my car?
      Thanks

Cleaning of Throttle Body & intake manifold

Hello everyone,

I am new to car maintenance. I own Aveo Hatchback 1.2L petrol model year 2008. It has rough idle & Hesitation problems, has MIL on.

I checked that P0404 is shown in pending DTCs using my scan tool, that relates to EGR circuit range issues, which means EGR valve is stuck.

I went ahead & removed the EGR valve for inspection, its pintle is not moving freely, and it has black deposits inside. I will give it a try cleaning with some carb cleaner & see if this clears this issue. If this issue is with EGR position sensor, I might have to buy a new EGR valve.

I also removed EGR pipe that connects to Intake manifold & EGR port.

Next i removed the Air box & Throttle body for cleaning, After removal of throttle body, the upper intake manifold is seen with black brown fluid inside everywhere with a 2-3 mm level at the bottom. there are some hoses that connect intake manifold to cylinder head & those also have this fluid.

I really do not know, if this is normal or i should just clean the intake manifold completely.

I just removed the negative battery terminal before removing these parts. And left the terminal unconnected since yesterday, as i am yet to clean all these parts. I am doubtful, if this erases some critical data on ECU.

Advise on this (Cleaning of Throttle body, EGR valve, EGR Pipe, Intake manifold & ECU with disconnected battey) would be of great help.

With Best Regards,

Thanks
      I'd clean it up as best you can and reassemble it. As long as that EGR valve is moving smoothly you should be okay.

Lifetime owner
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      That all sounds like all too typical build up from the pcv systems that all cars have now a days.. The egr is going to be clogged with exhaust residue though, (dry flakey, looks like lava rock).