•  

Thread: 2009 Aveo - P0420 (Catalyst system code) - Solved

I'll keep it and add a turbo
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks

2009 Aveo - P0420 (Catalyst system code) - Solved

Hi all,

Newbie here. Just thought I'd share my experience resolving Trouble Code P0420 on my 2009 Aveo with the LXV engine, with 74,000 miles (118,000 km).

Some history: In January, I replaced the engine oil cooler because it was leaking oil into the coolant. To replace the engine oil cooler, you need to remove the manifold converter. Because the 3 bolts connecting the manifold converter to the flex pipe were badly rusted and likely to snap, I opted to replace the existing manifold converter with a new Walker manifold converter from RockAuto. Although it was a frustrating job to replace the oil cooler, i eventually got it put back together and running. It looked and ran good. New engine oil cooler. New Walker manifold converter. And new upstream AND downstream AC Delco oxygen sensors. The car ran beautifully.

About 2 weeks after the above successful fix, I get the dreaded P0420 Trouble Code, which normally means the catalytic converter is failing. That was a real head scratcher for me, because the Walker manifold converter was brand new (good made-in-USA quality too), and the O2 sensors were new. I had installed everything carefully, so I knew there was no exhaust leak at either end of the manifold converter. The car was still running beautifully. I thought it was maybe an intermittent fault, so I cleared the Trouble Code with my little code reader. However, a couple days later, the CEL was on, and it was again P0420. I kept clearing the P0420 code, and it kept coming back within 1-3 days. I must have cleared it 10 times the last month or so. This was getting very frustrating. But i knew it was extremely unlikely that the converter was the problem.