•  

Thread: 2008 Aveo5 hatckback Coolant Hose Leak?

What's wrong with my car?
      Thanks

2008 Aveo5 hatckback Coolant Hose Leak?

Hi Everyone,

I'm a poor college student and tonight when I got home I noticed steam coming from under the hood. I turned off the car and opened the hood and noticed sweet-smelling steam and a water-coolant mixture coming from a hose that looks like it comes from the engine and goes into the radiator. I am attempting to insert a photo of the part in question.

What do I do about this? Is it safe to put water in the radiator, go to an auto parts store, and do this in my parking lot at my apartment complex? If I take it to a mechanics shop Im sure they'll overcharge me. it doesn't look like a complicated fix but I don't know where to get a new hose or what tools I will need. Does anyone have experience with replacing one of these? What is the part called? I highlighted it in red.

Thanks for your help and recommendations!

Name:  engine.jpg
Views: 81432
Size:  232.2 KB

Last edited by KickerBoy; 10-23-2014 at 05:56 AM. Reason: misspellings

Almost time to do my timing belt
      Thanks
      That's the hose from the thermostat housing to the radiator. It's fairly unusual for heater hoses to leak nowadays, but I guess it can happen. In any case, you need to determine exactly where the leak is coming from before removing anything. Dry everything up completely first with a rag. Refill the overflow tank to the mark, and idle with the that cap off, in order to get the air out, and also turn the heater up all the way while you're doing this. You will need to watch that hose area continuously, looking for any sign of wetness. Also run your fingers underneath the area because the leak may be out of sight. Watch the entire hose, including the clamps.

Thanks