•  

Thread: 2008 aveo problem with cold start, revs funny, surges, or stalls

What's wrong with my car?
      Thanks

2008 aveo problem with cold start, revs funny, surges, or stalls

Hello all, I'm new to the aveo forum and the chevy world. I purchased my 2008 aveo sedan LS (automatic) just two weeks ago, and I'm already having issues with cold starts. Perhaps cold starts isn't the right word, even on a warm day like today the car revved quite hard on initial startup, almost like a surging type of rev after it hadn't been started for approx 24hrs. Tonight after work, the temperature outside was much lower, a chilly night, and the car actually stalled on the first start up attempt. It did however start secondtry and ran perfect like it always does after it's going for about 10 seconds though. I have noticed it sounded weird on cold start since I bought it, but today was the definite indication that something is wrong.

I've read around that the coolant sensor has been a cause of this problem for this particular model of car. However, my air intake hose (from the air filter to the throttle body) is cracked and currently just patched with tinfoil, duct tape, and heavy duty zip ties. Suspecting that this hose might be causing the problems I took it apart today to look at, and found a bit of greasy/oily goop directly below the vacuum hose to the engine (i think that's what it is at least). I'm not sure if this oily goop is normal. Other than that though the hose actually appeared to be quite clean and the air filter was also in good shape. I wanted to probe further into the throttle body, but figured I better not with my limited mechanic skills and no repair manual.

At worst, even if i cant fix the car myself, it'd be nice to sound like I know what im talking about if i have to take it to a mechanic. I appreciate any replies or suggestions to the source of my problem!