•  

Thread: Gasoline

I'll keep it and add a turbo
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks

Gasoline

I've searched for this but couldn't find anything.

I just averaged 29.2 MPG with my new intake, driving habits = I still think I'm a race car driver. lol.

I usually fill up using 87 octane, my dad (who is a ASE mechanic and knows A LOT) said that by using 91/93 octane gas, even though its more expensive (usually $.10-$.15/gallon higher) would pay for itself the first tank.

Then my grandfather (my dads dad) tried it in his 2002 Ford Ranger and nothing happened except he wasted a few dollars (he thinks).

any input on the situation? if no extra MPG, does it keep the fuel line clean or anything like that? I'm sure there is a reason its a bit more expensive.

btw, don't laugh at me because I think I'm Ricky Bobby. I wanna go FAST!!

Thanks in advance!

I am NOT a race car driver.

Thanks

Re: Gasoline

From a website:

Can higher octane fuels give me more power?
      On modern engines with sophisticated engine management systems, the engine can operate efficiently on fuels of a wider range of octane rating, but there remains an optimum octane for the engine under specific driving conditions. Older cars without such systems are more restricted in their choice of fuel, as the engine can not automatically adjust to accommodate lower octane fuel. Because knock is so destructive, owners of older cars must use fuel that will not knock under the most demanding conditions they encounter, and must continue to use that fuel, even if they only occasionally require the octane.