•  
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My first car at 37!! (I'm a truck guy lol)

What's wrong with my car? SpeedyG's Avatar
      Thanks

Question My first car at 37!! (I'm a truck guy lol)

Hey everybody, about to buy a commuter car for work... Since i'm a GM guy that bleeds Chevy Engine Orange i thought i'd start at the bottom of the transpo world in the Sub-compact arena where i never thought i'd be... I live in central Alberta now, where literally like 70% of the population drives pickups (prosperous oil and gas country)... I have a 2011 Z71 Sierra myself with 91000 km on it, don't wanna wear it out with 800km a week on our highways, even tho i get 24 mpg out of it...

This idea of an Aveo came about due to Navistar shutting down our shop where i live due to this wonderful recession we're having... I'm an HD Tech at International so I was offered an oppurtunity to work at a brand new International facility (room for 40 trucks!!) but it's 90 km away, and since i just bought a house 11 months ago i'm kinda caught in the middle lol! Fuel cost in anything with a V8 will accumulate rapidly with this commute...

If you all had a Top 3 List of things to look out for when buying a $2500-4000 Aveo (2007 looks to be a decent year) let me know..! I've seen some listed with over 300K on the odometer so they go forever but would prefer something around the 100K mark. I'm a mechanic so nothing on this car scares me with regards to repairs.. Cheers!

What do you mean there's no turbo?
      Thanks
      I would go with an 09-11 aveo they come with the ecotec engine instead of the the e-tech that was in the 04-08 aveo. The 04-08 timing belt needs to be changed every 50000 instead of 100000 like the 09-11

3. The Following User Says Thank You to dgoody88 For This Useful Post:

Daox (11-02-2015)

Lifetime owner
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks