•  
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Timing belt pulley upgrade

Almost time to do my timing belt
      Thanks
      Quote Originally Posted by jep23ing View Post
      ... I know that the plastic pulleys fail way under the 100k km, ....
      Wow, thanks I wasn't aware of that. So we must be driving around in 2 time bombs ready to explode. I'm going out right now and replace both of the plastic pulleys I installed in our Aveos with those metal ones that the OP of this thread said never fail!

What's wrong with my car?
      Thanks
      I've been kicking around an idea for awhile to make pulleys from aluminum. I'm a machinist and have access to cnc lathes. I've been thinking about turning some out and using my car as a ginea pig. I feel aluminum would work much better than steel, with it being much lighter and better heat dissipation properties. Right now it's just an idea tho. I have my old plastic pulleys in the shop to use for measurements.
      Last edited by Prozack; 03-03-2016 at 08:25 PM.

Thanks
      What kind of cost would it be for one I would definitely be interested in one maybe even 2 since already looking into buying another Aveo.

Thanks
      Not sure I haven't calculated the total cost. Right now it's just on the drawing board.

Thanks
      Quote Originally Posted by Prozack View Post
      I've been kicking around an idea for awhile to make pulleys from aluminum. I'm a machinist and have access to cnc lathes. I've been thinking about turning some out and using my car as a ginea pig. I feel aluminum would work much better than steel, with it being much lighter and better heat dissipation properties. Right now it's just an idea tho. I have my old plastic pulleys in the shop to use for measurements.