•  
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Replacing the alternator

What's wrong with my car?
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks

Replacing the alternator

Hello everyone,

First post here as I don't own an Aveo, but I'm going to be (attempting) to replace the alternator on my friend's wife's 2004 Aveo automatic, 4 door I believe. (he's out of town on a fishing trip, hopefully catching the biggest muskie he's ever seen) I have yet to even look in the engine bay, but I'm not a stranger to automotive work, so I figure it can't be that hard. That being said, I've never worked on an American car before (Subaru, VW, Mazda), but I know I probably won't be needing any metric sockets - unless things have really changed.

I found this post: http://www.aveoforum.com/phpBB3/view...27464&start=90

The pictures seem to show it at the back of the engine bay - under the intake manifold it looks like. Are there any special cases of corrosion? Special tools I'll need? Tips or tricks?

Okay, haha, before I posted I googled and found this: http://www.ehow.com/how_5978560_repl...hevy-aveo.html , and this: http://www.justanswer.com/questions/...-my-2004-chevy ) It actually looks pretty easy, but that's usually where things start out.

Any extra info is still greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Thanks

Re: Replacing the alternator

You will need metric tools.

Thanks

Update on this, for those who are interested.

Removal of the alternator cannot be done without removal of the throttle body as well (the instructions fail to mention this). Additionally, there is a metal bracket preventing the removal of the lower bolt that runs from the intake manifold down to the block - I am going to try and pick up a Haynes manual or something and see what that says.