•  

Thread: Strut mounts

What's wrong with my car?
      Thanks

Strut mounts

I'm new to the Aveo and the forum and I have a problem. I can't stand the floating upper front strut mounts! I don't like the way it handles, the noises it makes, and it doesn't seem safe to me at all. Is there an aftermarket mount that actually bolts to the strut tower? I found one online from Moog that is supposed to be what I'm looking for, but when I tried to research it and find more pics, I couldn't find anything. Any help appreciated. Thanks, Adam

Should I keep it?
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks

Should I keep it?
      Thanks
      It's actually a fairly common method of installation, even if it does seem a little hokey - likely all in the name of cost savings.

Any of the OEM style mounts (meaning if you buy them from the dealer, or Moog, etc.) are all going to be very similar to stock - might be able to find some stiffer bushings, but none of them are going to bolt to the tower. In order to bolt it to the tower, you'd have to totally re-engineer the top of the strut assembly to include a bearing so it could rotate when you steer - and given the shape of the housing at the area where the bushing sits, it would probably be a pretty extensive modification; not sure it would be worth the trouble and expense on what is essentially an "econobox" car...

The Aveo isn't really designed to be a bad-ass rally car, more a basic transportation device with a low cost...

What's wrong with my car?
      Thanks