•  

Thread: awful screeching noise in wheel?

What's wrong with my car? katgarl's Avatar
      Thanks

awful screeching noise in wheel?

hello all,
      before I begin, this is my first time posting in this forum. I lurk on Aveoforum frequently and finally decided to join the community!

so here's my problem:
      I have a 2004 Aveo sedan. a bit earlier today, I was backing out of my driveway when I noticed a horrible, metallic-like grinding noise. my brother was in the passenger seat and told me it sounded like it was coming from the front right wheel. so I pulled back into the driveway and had my parents check it out... they suggested I drive it around the neighborhood to see if it goes away or fades a bit. what I noticed was that it was more prominent when I was accelerating rather than using the brake... whereas when I first tried backing out of the driveway, it was more noticeable when I was braking. my dad drove the car to make sure it wasn't pulling in any odd direction and then told me to go run errands and see if it goes away. it did go away, but I'm still concerned.

I'm wondering if it could have been some dirt stuck somewhere in my wheel or around the brake pad... I went out last night and the wheel wasn't making any noise at all when I got home. however, I did go to my friend's house last night and he has a very long, bumpy, pothole-filled DIRT driveway. any feedback?

sorry for the long post, and I'm not even quite sure if this is in the right subforum.. eeek

Lifetime owner
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      If it went away it was most likely something in the brakes. it could be a pebble, a spec of rust, etc.