•  
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: About to give up (Help with Intrax lowering spring install)

I'll keep it and add a turbo
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks

About to give up (Help with Intrax lowering spring install)

I'm attempting to install my Intrax lowering springs, which I originally bought for my first Aveo back in 2005. I've got both of the spring compressors on the right rear spring; however, I've never done this before and I have no idea what i'm doing. I don't want to pay a local shop $80, if I can do this myself.
      Here's where i'm at now:

It seems like i've got both sides of the spring as compressed as it is going to get; however, I still have no wiggle room to get the spring out of there. Am I completely messing something up? I did a search online and on the aveo forum and did not come up with a how to on installing lowering springs. Can someone help me out please!!

Last edited by RoRo; 03-09-2011 at 05:19 PM.

What do you mean there's no turbo? paulsaveo's Avatar
      Thanks
      to start, your jackstands are in the wrong place. your jack stands should be positioned on the pinchwelds under the doors, in the jack positions. then you place the jack itself under the middle of the bar raised (up so the bar is resting on the top of the jack) where your stands are currently located. then you remove the lower shock mount bolts. once shock mount bolts are removed, use the jack to lower the whole dead axle assembly, at which point the stock springs will almost fall out without use of spring compressors

Lifetime owner
      Thanks
      what paul said, but i usually just let it drop... there is a point on the frame that i use over the pinch weld though.. but you have the spring compressed where you have the jack stands as they are still holding up the car..

Thanks
      I'm going back out to try that now. Is the front the same procedure or something entirely different?

Thanks