•  

Thread: Manual Transmission Fluid Flush?

Should I keep it?
      Thanks

Manual Transmission Fluid Flush?

Hey guys,
      So I've never done this before. I have done every other fluid flush except the transmission fluid. I looked hard and I found some pictures in the forum outlining where the drain and fill plugs are...but tbh I'm not really a picture guy, I understand descriptions better. For the life of me I can't find the drain/fill plug...can someone tell me what side of the car I should approach? should I take off the driver side wheel and look there? or should I just jack up the car and look underneath the engine? what kind of screw/bolt is the is the drain/fill plug? and also how often do you guys recommend doing this..2005 Hatchback Aveo, has 76k km, never had the transmission fluid changed/added/inspected...It's becoming hard to put the gears in place, and only when I try to I'm putting the gear in reverse, if I don't do it slowly and carefully, the gears grind like a bitch...any help would be helpful.

Almost time to do my timing belt
      Thanks
      Manual tranny oil lasts for a LONG time. My '05 has 4x the mileage of yours, with the factory tranny oil, and never a hint of a grind. So I have to ask if you race, or have someone driving this Aveo who doesn't shift well? IMO this grinding is likely to be bad synchros, not fluid that's gone south.