•  
    Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Ecotec needs more HP

Still love my daily driver
      Thanks
      I Have a Clutch masters FX300 clutch and am about to lighten my stock flywheel(19.8 stock to 11 or 12lbs). 2 shops have tried talking me out of the flywheel without disassembling and balancing the rotating assembly. I understand the idea in theory , but I have done this on 2 prior vehicles by just slapping on the flywheel, has anyone done this??

Thanks
      Sorry to hijack thread but since it's similar. Is it also a straight bolt on motor for 1st gen also? I no the wire harness is different but would like to no exactly Wut would be needed for this swap to work on the 1st gens. Trying to see if it's worth it

Thanks
      to swap a 1.6 or 1.8 ECOtec it is all drop in with the harness u already stated -trans and motor mounts are the same.

Back to my question, aren't most modern engines internally balanced -rods crank n pistons - without the flywheel and pulley so we have the option to replace the part( flywheel/pulley) without having to balance the entire bottom end??? The old chevy SBs were balanced by adding counterweights to the flywheel/pulley? Does anyone know our engines method of balancing???

Another concern is if the flywheel is too light , will I trigger a misfire from the crank sensor ( some of the new Hondas are having this problem)
      Last edited by Pooh Man; 10-20-2014 at 11:37 PM.

Lifetime owner
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks