• Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Thread: Disconnecting the battery & relearn procedures

    1. #1
      I'll keep it and add a turbo Weirdo_Joe's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      Colorado
      Posts
      175
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Disconnecting the battery & relearn procedures

      I'm reading the GM service manual before putting on my CAI-1st time working on a car... It says you have to do an idle learn procedure after disconnecting the battery (which the CAI instructions say to do.) I'm wondering how many of ya'll who've done your own intakes disconnected the battery and did the idle relearn thing. I'm also going to look over the manual some more, but are there any other things I need to do after reconnecting the battery? Is the relearn neccessary? It says "only on Delphi ECMs only". I have an 08 LS sedan 5 spd. Anybody know if it's a Delphi? Any tips and info are greatly appreciated!



    2. #2
      Timing belt broke, do I keep it? thehunterooo's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Tampa and Orlando
      Posts
      4,361
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
      i have not done it (i went from sri to cai) but you should, and I should

    3. #3
      Lifetime owner
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Pittsburgh
      Posts
      7,576
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 53 Times in 45 Posts
      thats typically for "immediate" effect.. the car will adjust any how in 3 cycles.

      immediate because all you are doing really is deleting the readiness presets.


    4. #4
      I'll keep it and add a turbo Weirdo_Joe's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      Colorado
      Posts
      175
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Ok! Good to know! So from the sounds of that, even if I don't do it perfectly right (15 seconds EXACTLY on ignition, etc.) it will fix itself... I probably will try and do it, but now that I think about it... don't they probably disconnect the battery for oil changes, and anytime I take it in to get it serviced? I'll bet they don't do the relearn in those instances. Maybe they do.

    5. #5
      Lifetime owner
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Pittsburgh
      Posts
      7,576
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 53 Times in 45 Posts
      why would you disconnect the battery for oil changes? the oil reset is key on, slap pedal 3 times, key off.


    6. #6
      I'll keep it and add a turbo
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      Douglas, Arizona
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Weirdo_Joe View Post
      Ok! Good to know! So from the sounds of that, even if I don't do it perfectly right (15 seconds EXACTLY on ignition, etc.) it will fix itself... I probably will try and do it, but now that I think about it... don't they probably disconnect the battery for oil changes, and anytime I take it in to get it serviced? I'll bet they don't do the relearn in those instances. Maybe they do.
      WOW.......yeah I guess this is the first few times working on a car(no offense)from the sounds of it. Dont worry after a while you will be doing oil changes and regular maintanence your self and it feels good knowing it was done right.
      "Man who stand on toilet is high on pot""

    7. #7
      I'll keep it and add a turbo Weirdo_Joe's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      Colorado
      Posts
      175
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      HaHa! Redrob, you guessed right! And truly no offense taken! My bad. Might've jumped to conlusions a lil bit there, but I thought, "If you're messing with the air intake, and have to take off the battery cable, then maybe you would for an oil/oil filter change." Guess not! And I would have bet money (and lost it ; ) that you'd need to for sparkplugs, but from the service manual, doesn't look like it. Oh, well! I am still learning a lot, and it IS a lot of fun! Oh, and rabbit-Thanks again! I probably would've asked about that (oil relearn) sooner or later! Good news is... I just saved a lot of money on car insurance. Nah, I got my CAI in! Probably get around to posting pics tomorrow! YaY! Thanks again, everybody!

    8. #8
      I'll keep it and add a turbo gclark8's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      Perth Australia
      Posts
      140
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I am about to replace the battery, it's 2 1/2 years old now, do I need to keep a 12volt supply across the leads during the swap over?

      Edit: I called the Dealer; yes to keeping 12v across the leads during the change over.
      Last edited by gclark8; 09-16-2013 at 01:58 AM.

    9. #9
      I'll keep it and add a turbo gclark8's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      Perth Australia
      Posts
      140
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by gclark8 View Post
      I am about to replace the battery, it's 2 1/2 years old now, do I need to keep a 12volt supply across the leads during the swap over?

      Edit: I called the Dealer; yes to keeping 12v across the leads during the change over.
      Pix of old battery:


      http://www.acdelco.com/pdf/resource-...ies%20Info.pdf

      New battery was $140.90, all the way from the USA!!
      Attached Images Attached Images  
      Last edited by gclark8; 09-18-2013 at 09:51 PM.

    10. #10
      Lifetime owner
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Pittsburgh
      Posts
      7,576
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 53 Times in 45 Posts
      that sounds expensive, isn't that expensive? you should have gotten a korean battery :P




    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. So whats up with the battery fuse?
      By y2dgone in forum Engine & Drivetrain
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 06-21-2014, 12:23 AM
    2. Replies: 2
      Last Post: 10-28-2010, 01:51 PM
    3. Day time running lights or headlight circuit draining battery
      By mcyclonegt in forum Troubleshooting and Maintenance
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 07-18-2010, 03:02 AM
    4. Battery
      By aveosummit in forum Engine & Drivetrain
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 01-23-2009, 01:43 PM
    5. Red top optima battery
      By in forum Engine & Drivetrain
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 11-19-2007, 11:52 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •