•  

Thread: General Repair Inquiry

Should I keep it?
      Thanks

General Repair Inquiry

Hey all!

So other than changing my breaks (which my car seems to go through like a champ...probably due to my Masshole driving) I haven't had to do TOO much maintenance...just your basic oil and filter changes.

At 70K it's my first time going under the hood for anything and I just want to know if anyone else has had these issues:

Car: 2006 Aveo LT Hatchback, (roughly) 70K miles

Problems:

-BTSI Solenoid is worn causing the car to shift "past" park and the key to remain stuck in the ignition
      *I've read that this is a fairly common problem, so I'm not too worried about it.

-Cracked Thermostat Housing/Water Outlet
      *Noticed the other day when we were under the hood that I was spitting a little bit of coolant. Nothing terrible, just a little bit of bubbling/spraying (almost like a small hole in a bike tube)

-Worn Valve Cover Gasket
      *I've got some oil leaking out on to the exhaust, a quick fix, but seems awfully early for this gasket to be gone.

Also, has anyone had their Alloy Rims warp on them? I THINK mine is warped because I can't seem to find the issue with the "helicopter" noise coming from my front right.

That's all...not like it's any HUGE trouble, just some pain in the ass stuff...about $260 to fix on my own.

Look forward to hearing from everyone!
      Thanks!

-Kevin

Should I keep it?
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      Kevin,

1st big question-- have you changed the Timing Belt and Idler Pulley?? This has to be done at or before 60k otherwise you might be in for some big engine fix/replacement bills.

I have the same year & model as you, even the same mileage.

Here's what I've done so far--

Timing Belt/Idler/Water Pump at 49k
      Metal replacement thermostat housing at 35k (before the plastic one had a chance to crap out)