•  
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Low oil pressure problems, Please Help!

Thanks

Exclamation Low oil pressure problems, Please Help!

I am new to working on my car myself but i have done a little work on it. I have a 2005 Chevy Aveo and i have cleaned out the throttle body, replaced the thermostat myself, and changed the oil twice. My car keeps giving me a lot of troubles and the low oil pressure light flickers on and off when i'm sitting at a hot idle. I changed to synthetic 5w-20 the first oil change and that didn't help the oil pressure light flickering so i changed the oil again to 10w-40 and i'm still having the same problem, its just that my oil lamp not flickers at a slightly slower rate. I had the oil pressure checked with a gauge at the shop and they said it was holding 6 psi when idling at 2000 rpm's. The oil light /pressure switch is made to come on at 7 psi. I was told i should remove the oil pan and check the pickup tube and screen for oil sludge buildup as well as the oil pan. I'm not sure how to go about doing this and i haven't found much help with searching online. Could you please provide me with detailed steps on how to remove the oil pan to check out everything? I would greatly appreciate it! Thank you!

I'll keep it and add a turbo Aveo5_boy's Avatar
      Thanks
      Your using the wrong viscosity recommended for your car. Here is a copy and paste regarding engine oil from your 2006 owner's manual:

Look for two things:

GM6094M
      Your vehicle’s engine requires oil meeting GM
      Standard GM6094M. You should look for and use
      only an oil that meets GM Standard GM6094M.
      5-14

SAE 5W-30
      As shown in the viscosity chart, SAE 5W-30 is best
      for your vehicle.
      These numbers on an oil container show its
      viscosity, or thickness. Do not use other viscosity
      oils such as SAE 20W-50.

Thanks