• AveoForum decals - get one free, or buy
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Thread: 05 aveo engine and hold light flashing

    1. #1
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Location
      ohio
      Posts
      15
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      05 aveo engine and hold light flashing

      Hello everyone, I recently swaped engines and now the engine light and hold light are driving me crazy. sometimes it s only engine light and when both are flashing it won't shift to 4th gear. before putting the engine on checked the belt and it looked as it was replaced with the tention pully. scan reads missfire code p0300. just had a tune up done.I don't feel like spending more money without knowing what the problem is.
      PLEASE HELP.



    2. #2
      Senior Member
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Location
      Northeast
      Posts
      643
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by ak1you View Post
      Hello everyone, I recently swaped engines and now the engine light and hold light are driving me crazy. sometimes it s only engine light and when both are flashing it won't shift to 4th gear. before putting the engine on checked the belt and it looked as it was replaced with the tention pully. scan reads missfire code p0300. just had a tune up done.I don't feel like spending more money without knowing what the problem is.
      PLEASE HELP.
      Where did the replacement engine come from - rebuilt with a warranty, pulled from a wreck? How many miles on it, and did anyone do a compression test yet?

    3. #3
      Senior Member xintersecty's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      West Union, SC
      Posts
      508
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
      misfire code, have you checked the spark plug wiring sequence?
      Please do not power off, firmware update pending.....

    4. #4
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Location
      ohio
      Posts
      15
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      engine used had 51000 miles on it nobody did a compression test

    5. #5
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Location
      Surrey, BC
      Posts
      19
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      If the engine runs good (smooth idle) then most likely your P0300 (random misfire) is due to the Crankshaft position sensor (to computer) needing a Crankshaft re-learn procedure. I just replaced my 2005 engine with a 2008 (50,000 km on it). The engine was noisy on start-up but then ran good except throwing code P-0300 which was corrected with CrankShaft re-learn procedure. Mine's a 5 spd manual so I didn't have the other code and shifting problem you have. I drove for three weeks with CEL on.

      Unfortunately, in my case, GM didn't do "Crankshaft re-learn" properly another shop ended up getting it done for a fraction of the price ($40 vs $150). Currently trying to get refund from GM.

      Make sure your using the crankshaft position sensor that was originally with old engine (located below oil filter). Or at least cross-reference part numbers (RockAuto online is good for this). The shop that did my "re-learn" used a Snap-On calibrator that emulated GM Tech II calibrator - call around as not all calibrators can do this.

      The "Crankshaft Re-learn procedure" is in the GM shop manual and specifically mentions this is required with an engine replacement.

      See attached link which I came across that applies more to your situation.... Car with Automatic Transmisssion.

      Interstitial Ad - Modern Tire Dealer

      Goodluck

    6. #6
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Location
      ohio
      Posts
      15
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I went to the dealer and did the crankshaft learn procedure. the tech and I test drove the car after and same problem reaccured. Missfire code. but the scanner showed no missfires on any of the cylinders. and I also changed the crankshaft sensor. Please advise.

    7. #7
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Location
      Surrey, BC
      Posts
      19
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Make sure sensor (or at least part number matches) was one that was with car originally (sounds like you did this). Try some other shops to do re-learn as I tried four times before success (1 dealer and 3 independent shops). Bring the article (link) with you when you go to have it done. They seem to have to plug in their scanner to see if re-learn option is available. I believe the scanner that worked for me was a Snap-On unit but don't know exact model number.

      Sounds like re-learn isssue if not showing a real missfire - crankshaft needing re-learn will show false missfire.

      Goodluck

    8. #8
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Location
      Brainerd, MN
      Posts
      27
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      THe crankshaft learn procedure solved the problem with my 2005 auto

    9. #9
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Feb 2014
      Location
      Washington
      Posts
      4
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hello everyone! I also have a 05 aveo that recently started flashing the engine and hold lights. I disconnected the battery and all was fine for a day. Now just the hold light will randomly come on flashing. When starting it, it will start rough with lots of vibration and then light will start to flash. Spark plugs andwires are new.
      Any thoughts?

    10. #10
      Senior Member
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Location
      Northeast
      Posts
      643
      Garage empty: add car
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Did you have the problem before the new plugs and wires went in? If so, did the new parts help the problem at all? Did you have the ODB codes read yet? If so, what are the codes? If not, take it to a parts store to get the codes- many don't charge to do this.



    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. 2005 aveo, check engine light And "Hold" light flashing...
      By azaveo in forum Engine & Drivetrain
      Replies: 45
      Last Post: 10-17-2014, 06:58 AM
    2. Flashing Hold Light
      By timmytaxi in forum Engine & Drivetrain
      Replies: 9
      Last Post: 09-19-2012, 10:27 PM
    3. hold light flashing
      By chirinosca in forum Engine & Drivetrain
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 05-28-2012, 03:12 PM
    4. Hold Light Flashing
      By Mael in forum Troubleshooting and Maintenance
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 01-08-2012, 08:44 PM
    5. flashing HOLD light?
      By jimstolz76 in forum Troubleshooting and Maintenance
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 07-31-2010, 02:41 AM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •